ICC World Cup 2023 Winner – World Cup Winners List

In the ICC World Cup 2023 final, Australia defeated India by 6 wickets to become World Cup 2023 winner and lift their trophy.

ICC World Cup 2023 Winner, World Cup Winner List

ICC World Cup 2023 Winner

In the final match between India vs Australia on 19 November, Australia stopped the ‘UnbeatenIndia cricket team and defeated them by 6 wickets to lift the 2023 ODI World Cup trophy. Up to now, the Australian cricket team has won the World Cup series 6th times: 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015, and is the ICC World Cup 2023 Winner.

Travis Head led the way with 137 runs from 120 balls as Australia chased down 241-run target overs to beat India in their second meet in an ODI World Cup final.

India reached the final after 10 winning streak. Unfortunately, they couldn’t take their 11th win against Australia to become ICC World Cup 2023 Winner.

ODI World Cup winners list

Here are the ODI World Cup winners list from 1979 to the present:

  • West Indies – 1979
  • India – 1983
  • Australia – 1987
  • Pakistan – 1992
  • Sri Lanka – 1996
  • Australia – 1999
  • Australia – 2003
  • Australia – 2007
  • India – 2011
  • Australia – 2015
  • England – 2019
  • Australia – World Cup 2023 Winner

World Cup 2023 Award Winners

Player of the Tournament – Virat Kohli

With a total of 765 runs in this World Cup 2023 Tournament, a Wicket and 5 catches to his name, India’s Virat Kohli deserves to earn his ‘Player of the Tournament‘ award. Besides, the Indian Cricketer set many records, and his 50th century in the World Cup was unforgettable.

Most Wickets and Best Bowling Figures – Mohammed Shami

With 24 wickets, Mohammed Shami of the Indian cricket team led the wicket-taker chart and earned the ‘Most Wickets’ award. With a total of 24 wickets, he stands in the top 3rd ‘Most wickets in a single World Cup edition‘. In addition, Shami also won the ‘Best Bowling Figures‘ for his performance in the 1st match facing New Zealand, where he scored 7 wickets.

Most Sixes – Rohit Sharma

India’s captain, Rohit Sharma won the ‘Most sixes‘ award when he scored 31 sixes in the tournament, as well as the Break-record of Legend Chris Gayle.

Highest individual score – Glenn Maxwell

Glenn Maxwell was given the award for his showcase against Afghanistan at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai when he scored an unbeaten 201 at a strike rate of 150.37.

Most Centuries/Most Dismissals By a Wicketkeeper – Quinton de Kock

The Proteas’s wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock hung up his boots from the 50-over format of the game with 594 runs, including 4 centuries. He was awarded the ‘Most Hundreds‘ award. Besides, he also won the ‘Most dismissed by wicket-keeper‘ with 20.

Most Catch – Daryl Mitchell

Daryl Mitchell of New Zealand had 11 catches to his credit, earning him the award of ‘Most Catches‘.

Player of the Match (Final)- Travis Head

Travis Head led his team to be the World Cup 2023 Winner by 6 wickets with his 137 runs of 120 balls at a strike rate of 114.17. He won the ‘Player of the Match‘ award.

Sad ending for the Indian cricket team

Mohammed Siraj was in tears. KL Rahul fell to his knees. Rohit Sharma’s eyes turned red as he walked off the ground. Virat Kohli wore his hat to cover his face. 10 consecutive winnings, the most of any team in this tournament, but unfortunately they couldn’t win the final match.

Indian cricket fans will remember how excellent their cricket team was at this World Cup for years to come. From Rohit Sharma’s impressive batting, Virat Kohli’s astonishing performance, Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul’s virtuosic performances to Mohammed Shami’s most fervent bowling.

The result has not gone our way. We were not good enough today. We tried everything but it wasn’t supposed to be”.

Rohit Sharma

For more news and updates visit ekcricket.

Back to top button