Who Have The Longest Six in IPL? Rohit And Chris Gayle Have Surprise Positions

In the last season, IPL 2023 witnessed the longest six hit by skipper Faf du Plessis of Royal Challengers Bangalore, with 115m.

The Longest Six in IPL

Prepare for IPL 2024

As we are preparing for the next IPL 2024, let’s take a shot at the longest six after the previous season. The 2023 edition of IPL has witnessed a record-breaking 1,124 sixes hit successfully during the tournament, it’s the second time that a total 1000 sixes was hit in the IPL history.

Top 10 Longest Six in IPL history

The leader of the record of Longest Six in IPL history belong to Albie Morkel of Chennai Super Kings in the inaugural of the league, 2008 with 125m. In fact, Morkel is also the first batsman who reach the 125 meter milestone.


The “Universe Boss”, Chris Gayle known by explore batting style with several sixes in his cricket career, is also took a place in Top Longest six in IPL with 5th position. He reach the record in 2013 with 119m when played for RCB.

Indian legend Yuvraj Singh and Gatam Gambhir are also have named in the list. Yuvraj stand on top 7th with 119 meters, and Gautam stand the last in top 10 with 117 meters.

TopPlayerSix distance (in metres)TeamYear
1Albie Morkel125Chennai Super Kings2008
2Praveen Kumar124Royal Challengers Bangalore2008
3Adam Gilchrist122Kings XI Punjab2011
4Robin Uthappa120Royal Challengers Bangalore2010
5Chris Gayle119Royal Challengers Bangalore2013
6Ross Taylor119Royal Challengers Bangalore2008
7Yuvraj Singh119Kings XI Punjab2009
8Ben Cutting117Sunrisers Hyderabad2016
9Liam Livingstone117Kings XI Punjab2022
10Gautam Gambhir117Royal Challengers Bangalore2013
Top 10 Longest Six in IPL history

Longest six in IPL 2023

At 2023 IPL, Royal Challenger Bangalore’s captain, Faf du Plessis was managed to score a longest six of the season with 115m. He scored the six on M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

The 2nd position belong to Tim David of Mumbai Indians with 114m, scored on the Iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Top 3rd witness the 112 meters six hit by Jos Buttler of Rajasthan Royals.

TopPlayerSix Distance (m)Team
1Faf du Plessis115RCB
2Tim David114MI
3Jos Buttler112RR
4Shivam Dube111CSK
5Marcus Stoinis110LSG
6Rinku Singh110KKR
7Andre Russell109KKR
8Nicholas Pooran105LSG
9Shivam Dube102CSK
10Ishan Kishan102MI
Top 10 Longest six in IPL 2023

In a high competition like India Premier League, every cricket team needs their players to do their best. So it started the appearance of the longest sixes of IPL chart. Hit by explosive batsmans, the ball flies at the massive speed and height, and touches the ground in an impressive long. The chart has proven the strength, skillful and fast reacting of the players.

Legend like MS Dhoni, Sachin Tendulka,… or exceptional players such as Rohit Sharma – the explosive captain of India, Virat Kohli – Runs Machine, Shubman Gill ,… was all have for themself many over 100 meters sixes. But there always someone better than you, even the legendary Indian cricketer couldn’t top the list.


Before the IPL 2024 started, we need to take a look back to the previous season to watch the longest sixes in IPL. Hence, knowing who is the best choice of players and best team in the new season.

For more news and updates visit ekcricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button