IPL 2024 Champion: Kolkata Knight Riders Dominated The League

IPL 2024 Champion, Kolkata Knight Riders
IPL 2024 Champion: Kolkata Knight Riders Dominated The League

After the IPL 2024 Final match played on the night of May 26, the IPL 2024 Champion has finally revealed: the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). This winning is the third IPL title for the Man-in-Purple team.

The Thrilling Final Match

After 73 matches, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders have excellently reached the top of the points table and finally encounter each other in the IPL 2024 Finals stage played on May 26.

Toss Decision

Started with the Sunrisers won the toss and chose to bat first, like many choices of other captains to take advantage of this pitch. Even the record of MA Chidambaram said that the decision to bat first here would be better than chasing here with 49 games won by batting first and 35 matches won by chasing. But Pat Cummins soon knew his decision was wrong in this time.


KKR Bowler’s Excellence

Abhishek Sharma is the opening batter for the Sunrisers, Shreyas Iyer’s team, the IPL 2024 Champion, responded to that with Mitchell Starc and he didn’t disappoint his team. Abhishek has been bowled out right in the 5th ball from Starc with just 2 runs scored. Not for long after the first wicket, a golden duck was scored by Vaibhav Arora against Travis Head, successfully stopping a formidable batter of SRH without scoring a run score. There is one more wicket scored by Mitchell Starc in the 5th over to send Rahul Tripathi (9/11) out of the field.

Pat Cummins’ men have been slowed down in scoring and they could score just 40 runs after 6 overs, making this match the 3rd lowest powerplay for SRH.

It’s Hard For SRH Under KKR’s Attack

Under the strong attack from Shreyas Iyer’s bowlers, the Sunrisers’ batsmen could not even reach 20 runs except Aiden Markram (20/23) and Pat Cummins (24/19), and the team was bowled out when they could only score 113 runs after 18 overs. With this terrible result, it looks like we already know which team will become the IPL 2024 Champion this year.

Successful On Chasing and Becoming the IPL 2024 Champion

Start the chasing of Kolkata Knight Riders, although facing the lost of Sunil Narine, the exploring all-rounder in this season, after scoring only a Six, KKR’s batter still keeps their form and boosted to over 100 runs in just 9 overs with only 2 wickets scored by SRH’s bowlers.

The game has seen the stunning form of Venkatesh Iyer, who scored 52 off 26 balls not out, and Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who scored 39 off 32 balls. Only 2 KKR batters have been bowled out.

Achievements and Records After the IPL 2024 Champion Revealed

KKR’s performance in the IPL 2024 Final has become one of the phenomena in the IPL history and their fans. After this match, the Men-in-Purple wrote down their name on some page of IPL history by reaching and surpassing some records, there are:

  • Highest Powerplay totals in IPL Finals: With 72/1 after 6 overs, Kolkata Knight Riders, the IPL 2024 Champion has surpassed the 62/0 of GT vs CSK in the last season to become the highest powerplay in an IPL Finals.
  • Fewest Defeats for a Team in an IPL season: With only 3 losses in this season, the IPL 2024 Champion, KKR has become the fewest defeats for a team in an IPL season, equal with Rajasthan Royals in 2008.
  • With a margin of 57 balls over SRH, Kolkata this year, the IPL 2024 Champion has scored 4 different records, there are:
    • The biggest margin ever in the Play-off, Final stage.
    • The second biggest margin for the team.
    • The biggest ever that has played against Sunrisers Hyderabad.
    • By this number, KKR becomes the second-biggest margin in a 100-plus chase in IPL history.
  • Player of the Match – Mitchell Starc: With 2 wickets after 3 overs and only 14 runs have been scored under his attack, Mitchell Starc deserves to earn the Player of the Match award.
  • Most Valuable Player (MVP), Player of the Tournament – Sunil Narine: Played with an exploring style and stunning form this year, West Indies’ all-rounder Sunil Narine played a total of 488 runs and 17 wickets, the highest score scored by an all-rounder. He also becomes the first cricketer to win the MVP award in IPL history by his contribution in the past:
    • 24 wickets in IPL 2012, also his IPL debut.
    • 17 wickets + 357 runs in IPL 2018 edition.
    • 17 wickets + 488 runs in this 2024 season.
  • Catch of the Season – Ramandeep Singh: Ramandeep earned the reward due to his effort in the match against LSG.

Besides the IPL 2024 Champion, there are still the achievements won by other cricketers, teams:

  • Orange Cap – Virat Kohli: Still in form, “King Kohli” had another satisfactory IPL season when he scored 741 runs, the highest and mostly the number that cannot surpassed in this season.
  • Purple Cap – Harshal Patel: With 24 wickets, Harshal Patel of Punjab Kings has taken the Purple Cap, he really deserves it!
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad won the Fairplay Award.

The Awaited ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Close the IPL 2024 page, there is the most awaited international tournament that will participate in this June, the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. After the Indian Premier League 2024, the selectors will start to pick players who have the best performance in this tournament for the World Cup squad.

The tournament will start on Sunday, 2nd June with the match between the USA and Canada at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas. India National Cricket Team will play 4 matches in the Group Stage. The Warm-up match between Bangladesh and India will start on the first day of June and will be held at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

Back to top button