SportsKabaddiKabaddi Teams

How Bengal Warriors Captivate Our Hearts?

The Bengal Warriors have risen from underdogs to champions, overcoming numerous challenges along the way in the Pro Kabaddi League.

Bengal Warriors

The Rise of Bengal Warriors in the Pro Kabaddi League

The Pro Kabaddi League season has always been an eagerly-awaited event for fans across the country. Among the many teams that compete, the Bengal Warriors have carved a special place in the hearts of their supporters.

The Bengal Warriors, a professional kabaddi team hailing from the vibrant state of West Bengal, have been a prominent contender in the Pro Kabaddi League. With their remarkable performances and consistent growth, they have garnered a loyal fan base over the years. Led by their talismanic captain, Maninder Singh, the team has witnessed both ups and downs but continues to captivate audiences with their determination and skill.

In the previous edition of the Pro Kabaddi League, the Bengal Warriors showcased their ability to face challenges head-on. Competing against powerhouses like the Patna Pirates, the team displayed exceptional performance throughout the tournament. They managed to secure vital victories and even defeated the reigning champions, which boosted their confidence and cemented their position as a strong contender.

The Talisman of Bengal Warriors, Maninder Singh

Maninder Singh’s raiding prowess is unmatched in the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) season after season. His ability to outsmart the opposition defenders and secure raid points has consistently impressed fans and experts alike. With his lightning-fast moves and agility on the mat, Maninder has single-handedly turned the tide of many matches in favor of the Bengal Warriors.

Time and again, Maninder has delivered standout performances in crucial matches. From taking down top defenders to executing successful do-or-die raids, he has showcased his mettle under pressure. His match highlights often feature jaw-dropping raids, earning him the admiration of fans across the league.

Despite facing setbacks, such as a shoulder injury and challenging seasons, Maninder has consistently bounced back and delivered exceptional performances. His determination and resilience have been instrumental in guiding the team through tough times and leading them to victory.

Maninder’s contributions go beyond the numbers on the scoreboard. His presence alone changes the complexion of the game for the Warriors. The opposition defense is always on high alert when he steps on the mat, as they know the damage he can inflict in a matter of seconds.

Bengal Warriors’ Journey

PKL 2014

The Bengal Warriors made their debut in the inaugural season of the PKL. Led by captain Nilesh Shinde, the team showcased promising performances but failed to make it to the playoffs.

PKL 2015

Under the leadership of captain Dinesh Kumar, the Bengal Warriors showed significant improvement. They finished fifth in the league and missed the playoffs by a narrow margin. The team’s raiding department, spearheaded by the talented Nitin Kumar and Dinesh Kumar, impressed with their agility and strategic gameplay.

PKL 2016

The team’s performance took a dip in Season 3 as they finished in the last position in their group. Despite a disappointing season, the Bengal Warriors displayed brief glimpses of their potential with notable victories.

PKL 2017

The Bengal Warriors experienced a mixed bag of results in Season 5. Despite an impressive unbeaten run in their home matches, they faced challenges on away encounters. Maninder Singh emerged as the team’s talisman, consistently scoring raid points and captivating the audience with his agility and skill.

PKL 2018

The Warriors started Season 6 on a high note, showcasing a strong winning streak at the beginning. However, injuries and inconsistencies in the latter half of the season hampered their progress.

PKL 2019

The most expensive foreign player of this season was Iranian Mohammad Esmaeil Nabibakhsh who was bought by Bengal Warriors for ₹77.75 lakh. As termed by the organisers ‘Most Toughest Season’, the zonal system present in the previous season is removed, and each team will play against all the other teams twice. The Bengal Warriors beat Dabang Delhi in the Final to became the Champion.

PKL 2021

The Warrior can’t get to the eliminators stage.

PKL 2022

One of the Warriors’ disappointment season when they have 11 lose and 8 win and can’t qualification to eliminate stage.

Current Squad

Current Squad of Bengal Warriors (01/2024): Maninder Singh (C), Shubham Shinde, Vaibhav Garje, Darpan Chauhan, Aditya S Shinde, Nitin Kumar Dhankhar, Parshant Kumar, R Guhan, Aslam Saja Mohamed Thambi, Shreyas Sachin Umardand, Akshay Kumar, Vishwas-S, Nitin Rawal, Chai-Ming Chang, Shrikant Jadhav, Dipak Arjun Shinde, Jaskirat Singh, Suyog Gaikar, Akshay Bharat Bhoir, Maharudra Garje, Himmat Antil.


The Bengal Warriors‘ story serves as a motivation for us to push our limits, set ambitious goals, and work tirelessly towards achieving them. From their humble beginnings to becoming the champions of the Pro Kabaddi League, the Warriors have captured the hearts of fans across the country.

For more news and updates visit ekcricket.

Back to top button