SportsCricketCricket Teams

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Passion, Perseverance And Determination

Sunrisers Hyderabad is a team driven by passion, perseverance and determination, where every player relentlessly pursues victory.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Journey of Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) is a professional franchise cricket team played for the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team was founded in 2012 and has become a formidable force in the league.

When IPL introduced the franchise system in 2012, Sunrisers Hyderabad was showed as the replacement for Deccan Chargers. The team had big steps to take when the Chargers won the IPL title in 2009. SRH faced financial problems and had to overcome various hurdles in its initial years. However, the team managed to retain key players and remained committed to its goals.

In 2016, under the captaincy of David Warner, SRH won their first IPL title. This victory marked a turning point for the team, proved that they have what it takes to compete at the highest level. Since then, SRH continuously performed well in the tournament, often exceed expectations and surprise opponents.

Under the guidance of renowned coaches such as Tom Moody and Trevor Bayliss, SRH has developed a strong and strategic to the game. The team’s head coaches played an important role in nurturing young talent and developing an effective game plan.

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad is the home ground of SRH. This epic venue has witnessed many memorable moments and has proven to be a fortress for the team.

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Achievements

Rise from the Ashes

Back in 2012, Sunrisers Hyderabad rise from the shadow of Deccan Chargers, another IPL team based in Hyderabad. Facing financial problems, the Chargers were unable to continue, leading to the birth of a new franchise under the leadership of Sun TV Network. Sunrisers stepped in, ready to take on the challenge and make their mark in the world of professional franchise cricket.

First IPL title

Sunrisers Hyderabad announced their arrival in a grand way by winning their maiden IPL title in 2016. Led by the astute captaincy of David Warner, the team showed outstanding performances in throughout the tournament. With important contributions from players like Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shikhar Dhawan and Kumar Sangakkara, Sunrisers Hyderabad proved themselves to be a tough opponent of IPL.

The Williamson Era

2018 marked the beginning of a new era for Sunrisers Hyderabad as Kane Williamson took over the captaincy. Under Williamson’s leadership, the team showed admirable stability, finishing as runner-up in the tournament. The New Zealand captain’s calm demeanor and exceptional batting skills made him a standout performer.


There is a notable rivalry between Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Hyderabad franchise. The clash between Bangalore and Hyderabad is always tense. Deccan Chargers have won 6 of the 11 clashes between the two sides and Sunrisers are currently leading with 12 wins to RCB’s 9 wins. It is worth noting that Hyderabad has jeopardized every campaign of RCB in one way or the other.

The 2009 Indian Premier League final and the 2016 Indian Premier League final were won by Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad respectively.

Their 2020 clash also took place in the high-stakes playoffs, where Kane Williamson defeated RCB to eliminate them from IPL 2020.

The most recent example is that even if their team has a 2021 season poor, SRH were still able to beat rising team RCB at a time when RCB should have made it to the top 2 but ended up in 3rd place, leading to them having to play the knockout match, where they lost together Kolkata Knight Riders and eliminated from IPL 2021.


Sunrisers Hyderabad is a shining example of a team that exemplifies passion, perseverance and determination. Each player not only promotes their individual skills but also adheres to the team’s common goal of victory. Their never-give-up attitude is truly inspiring and it serves as a reminder that success can be achieved through hard work and perseverance.

For more news and updates visit ekcricket.

Back to top button